The Party Has Moved On

If you’re at adaptivecurmudgeon.wordpress.com you’re missing out. In a fit of cyber-security and OPSEC paranoia I’ve mover out of the wordpress.com sandbox. I’ve already made four new posts at my new home. Please go to:

Adaptivecurmudgeon.com

About Adaptive Curmudgeon

I will neither confirm nor deny that I actually exist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Party Has Moved On

  1. Anonymous says:

    New address is blocking tor server addresses. bummer

    • Hmm…. I still haven’t figured out this one. I don’t want it blocking TOR. After all I intend to be famous on the dark net after the zombie apocalypse. If TOR is disallowed my plans are doomed.

      Do you have any idea if this is a matter for my wordpress settings or do I need to find my hosting service and throw a brick through their window?

      Stay tuned. I’m still working on it.

    • I think it’s fixed. See if it works for you now.

  2. mostly cajun says:

    Somewhere on your Index page is a parameter to set the category of your new site. It is presently either missing or is set to ‘unclassified’, and my corporate content blocker blocks unclassified sites. I that’s something you can change, I’d appreciate it.

    thanks
    Mostly Cajun

    • I created a new category “Generalized Curmudgeonry” and set that as default. I’ve been slacking and haven’t set a category or tag on a post in years. I shall have to mend my errant ways.

      If it works please tell me. If it doesn’t work please tell me.

      Also, thanks for the hint! I had no clue that category mattered at all. Yikes.

  3. John says:

    Tried your new site again. Using TOR and got this message:

    “Access denied. Your IP address is blacklisted. If you feel this is in error please contact your hosting provider’s abuse department.”

    I don’t have a clue what it means except I can’t see you as an icon on the dark web without TOR access.

    Good Luck. . .

    • Dammit!

      This ‘aint over yet. I’ll keep trying. There are things that lockout TOR but I thought I’d sufficiently opened the window. Don’t give up on me.

    • Try again… I fiddled with more settings. See if it works now.

    • MaxDamage says:

      You’re fighting the war of weapons and armor here, John. As soon as armor gets better a better weapon gets developed to defeat it. The thing with Tor is it might seem a privacy tool and who really needs to know your originating IP? But as fast as new Tor peers come up the security vendors are mapping them and blocking them because of the company you keep, people who want to hide who they are for nefarious purposes. There are a lot of regulatory cites saying we have to do due diligence, keep records for 60 days or 6 months, contract terms saying we’ll provide protection…

      Just saying…

      This may not be with AC’s purview — unless he’s hosting the site himself he’s subject to the whims of the network admins tasked with keeping his site reasonably secure, and to a man they’re going to be absolutely fine with blocking Tor hosts out of principle.

      If you associate with the dark web, don’t be suprised if you aren’t allowed in polite company.

      – Max

      • It’s true that I may be at the whim of my hosting service. Either that or I haven’t yet figured out the right settings. I’m not sure which. I haven’t given up yet.

        It’s an interesting example of the classic dilemma; from the webmaster’s centralized point of view TOR is a no-go zone, from a user’s individual point of view it shouldn’t matter. One could rephrase it as “if you have nothing to hide why wouldn’t you want the NSA/Sheriff/your mother/your boss/Curmudgeon’s Web Host to read it?” I’d like to support folks’ freedom to keep to themselves but the system has issues with TOR and I’m not a professional web guru. I doubt I get thousands of TOR based readers a week. (Though I don’t pay attention so anything is possible.) For that matter I was planning on experimenting with TOR myself but never get around to it. I wonder how often browsing is hindered when you’re in TOR?

        How weird that a week after switching out of the sandbox I bump into basic ethics debates that have gone on forever.

        Aesthetically it would please me to allow TOR (or some level of TOR) but if I can’t figure it out or TOR turns into a spamfest (or worse) I’ll go back to default settings. Time will tell.

Leave a comment